Psalm 126

via Daily Prompt: Vanish

Psalm 126

When YHVH turns back the captivity of Tsiyon, We shall be like dreamers.

Then our mouth shall be filled with laughter, And our tongue with singing, Then shall they say among the gentiles, “YHVH has done great deeds for them.”

YHVH shall do great deeds for us, We shall be glad.

Turn back our captivity, O YHVH, Like the streams in the South.

Those sowing in tears, shall reap with songs of joy.

He who goes on and weeps, Bearing seed for sowing, Shall indeed come in with rejoicing, Bearing his sheaves.

* * * * * *

This has always been one of my favourite Psalms. It contains so much hope, so much joy, so much promise. There are days when the weight of the world is heavy on my shoulders, and then, if I can just remember this Psalm… The weight disappears. My fears vanish. Hope returns. I remember that now is temporary… like mist before the sun, it will disappear.  I remember that I do not have to struggle alone. I remember that  YHVH never sleeps or slumbers… and that He is always with me, whether I am aware of it or not.

And then I smile. 🙂

I become like the dreamers in the Psalm, with my mouth filled with laughter, and my tongue with joyful shouting!

And then I pray for YHVH to turn back our captivity, for we have certainly sowed in tears, but we look forward to reaping with songs of joy!

Leave a Reply

